jump to navigation

Bullet Points! June 25, 2010

Posted by MJ in Miscellany.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I can’t seem to keep this updated with consistency, can I?

Here’s what I’ve been up to:

  • Dyed my hair orange.
  • Got a job at Spencer’s Gifts

In my head this seemed like it would be more to talk about…

First of all, I love my job and I couldn’t ask for more.  I’ve only been working there for a couple weeks and I think it’s wonderful so far.  My coworkers are awesome and the work is just the right amount of demanding.  I’m still getting used to being on my feet for hours on end, but other than that I have no complaints (except of course the stupid teenagers but I hate stupid teenagers regardless).

At the end of May I procured some Special Effects brand orange dye online.  After waiting for a friend to become available to dye it for a couple weeks, I ended up just doing it myself.  Here are the results:

The dye was easy enough to apply when I figured out what technique worked best.  The bottle told me to brush it in with a paint brush but I found that didn’t get it even enough and proved difficult since I was doing it myself.  Instead I just put two sandwich bags on my hands and rubbed it alllll in.  Why sandwich bags?  Because I didn’t have gloves.

This is how it looked after I waited a half hour and washed it out.  It was REALLY vibrant for the first couple of days before starting to fade into an actual orange color.

That’s only after a week though, so Special Effects fades pretty fast if you wash your hair every day like me.  I don’t know how well other brands (like Manic Panic) work though since I’ve only ever really used Special Effects when doing unnatural colors.

Now it’s faded into a more subtle orange. Since my hair was bleached beforehand I imagine it’ll stay like that for a while.  I’ll give it a couple more weeks before I get my roots touched up to re-dye it since I bought two bottles of dye accidentally.

Overall, if we’re going to make this a review I’d say that Special Effects is definitely worth the money (it was around $4 where I bought it).  It washes out quickly but the effects last longer when your hair is bleached beforehand.  I’d say it’s good for someone who wants just a temporary coloring.

I wanted something different though, so I cut my bangs pointed.  I was unsure at first but they’re really growing on me!  I absolutely have to blow dry them though because my cowlick becomes amplified with them if I don’t hah.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment