jump to navigation

A Backlog of Food Photos April 2, 2010

Posted by MJ in Food.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

A while back I mentioned how I made some awesome orange chicken but never got around to posting a photo of my masterpiece.  Since then, I’ve been making a variety of things and saving pictures of them to share.  Now that I’m feeling less stressed out about life, I’ve found the time to sit down and start updating again.

I made this with a Wanchai Ferry box.  The ingredients in the box included rice, sauce mix, breading, and chili peppers for taste.  I steamed the broccoli myself and garnished the chicken with sesame seeds for presentation.  Overall it was quite good and I’ll be more inclined to try more Wanchai Ferry products in the future if I want to make quick Chinese again.

This was my poor attempt at making apple bunnies for a desert after my orange chicken.  Obviously, I need more practice. heh

Whenever I make a trip to NYC I always make it a point to prepare a bento for myself for the bus ride up.  In the bottom tier:  rice with nori checks.  In the top tier:  dinosaur nuggets; cucumber, radish, and grape tomatoes; blueberries and animal cookies.

Before spring break, I had to finish off some of the food I had in my fridge so I wouldn’t have to throw it out before I left for break.  I had, like, a third of a cucumber left and plenty of grape tomatoes so I decided to mix them with olive oil and vinegar.  I paired this with some fried chicken (soo healthy) and perogies.  Yum!

After spring break, I decided I just wanted to stop eating at the cafeteria for dinner completely so I could cook more.  Last week I made myself this little meal.  It was more of a test in terms of how to season things, but it turned out alright.  Pictured is:  seasoned chicken, boiled spinach, and diced boiled potatoes with a roll.

Since I ended up with a ton of fresh spinach left after this I decided that I needed to eat it quickly before it went bad.  I also had some chicken left that I had been meaning to cook as well.  On Saturday, I invited over a friend and whipped up the most delicious Greek-inspired salad I’ve had!

The salad consists of spinach greens, sliced cucumber, grape tomatoes, red seedless grapes, chick peas, seasoned chicken, and feta cheese.  It’s simple to make as well!

For the chicken you will need:

  • Butter or margarine
  • Poultry seasoning
  • Onion powder
  • Rosemary
  • Olive oil

First, cut the chicken (I used breast) into slices a little smaller than the palm of your hand.  Next melt your butter or margarine in a bowl.  I had ten slices of chicken, so I needed about two tablespoons of margarine.  When it is melted sprinkle in enough poultry seasoning to cover the surface of the melted butter (but not so it’s completely black), then add a small amount of onion powder (about one or two shakes from a shaker), and sprinkle in some rosemary.  Mix this together in the bowl so that it all seems about evenly spread.  Dip the raw chicken into the mixture to coat it on both sides.  Sprinkle some more poultry seasoning on the chicken after you’ve coated it, and then pound it into the meat lightly with the dull edge of a knife.

Next add about 1-2 teaspoons of olive oil to your frying pan while it is heating up, making sure to move the pan around to coat the bottom.  When the pan is hot begin adding the chicken.  Let the meat become opaque on one side, then flip it over and repeat.  Continue turning the meat until both sides are golden brown.

For the salad, I mixed the sliced cucumbers, tomatoes, and grapes in a bowl with olive oil and apple cider vinegar (though I recommend red wine) to taste.  I just pour in enough of each to lightly coat the vegetables.  You can also mix in the spinach greens to coat them as well.

I put the spinach greens on the plate first, then added the vegetable mixture, chick peas, and chicken on top.  Then I sprinkled crumbled feta on it.

The combination of sweet, savory, and tart gives this dish a variety of different tastes and textures.  Enjoy!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

